Why do girls paint their nails?

Nail polish originated in China as early as 3000 BC. In Ancient Egypt, it was even used to signify class rankings: High society painted their nails red. In modern society, women use polish, but in the past, both sexes painted their nails. It's because it looks interesting, of course.