What are tomatoes classified as?

Tomatoes are a fruit botanically, But the United States Supreme ruled it as a vegetable for customs regulations.

---

Scientifically, tomatoes are classified as a fruit because they are a seed bearing structure of a plant (vegetables are the stems, leaves, and roots). The culinary perspective, which tends to define fruits as sweet and vegetables as savory, considers tomatoes a vegetable because they are more savory