How much does a gallon of salt water weigh?

Seawater weighs about 64 pounds per cubic foot—on average. "Average" fresh water weighs about 62.2 pounds per cubic foot. Through all the conversions, a gallon of seawater weighs approximately 8.556 or rounded to 8.6 pounds—on average.