What is the last dog?

The Last Dog is a documentary about a man named Peter who is in his seventies. His dog has just died and he decides he will never own another dog in his lifetime. However, a friend takes him to view a liter of Saint Bernard puppies. He falls in love with one of them and names the puppy Hawthorn.