How do you know when corn is ready to harvest?

Corn is ready to be picked as soon as the ears have completely filled out. This goes for sweet corn & roasting ears. You can tell when this happens by feeling the end of an ear. If it's rounded rather than pointed, the ears are ready. The silks also dry up when the ears are ready to be picked.