What are metal sugar?

Metal sugar is an old name for a metal or metallic oxide. Lead oxide, a deadly poison, was once used to make white paint. Zinc oxide is used in cosmetics. Aluminum oxide is used in deodorant. Many metal oxides have a sweet taste if tasted. Not recommended as many metal oxides are poison.