What is a barrio rice?

Arborio rice is a variety of short-grain rice used primarily in the classic preparation of risotto. Named after the area in Italy where it was originally cultivated, today the rice is also grown in California & Texas. Arborio rice is short, fat, & slightly oval-shaped with a pearly white exterior.