How do you care for an avocado tree?

Water deeply and regularly; let the tree dry out slightly before watering again. To conserve moisture, mulch trees with 3 or 4 inches of coarse wood chips. Always leave several inches between the mulch and tree trunk. Some experts don't recommend fertilizing avocado trees the first year.