What is a drinking gourd?

The "drinking gourd" alludes to the hollowed out gourd used by slaves (and other rural Americans) as a water dipper. The Drinking Gourd is also another name for the Big Dipper. Folklore has it that slaves in the United States used it as a point of reference so they would not get lost.