How long is a caterpillar in it's cocoon?

Butterflies make a chrysalis, while other insects—like the tobacco hornworm caterpillar—makes a cocoon and becomes a moth. They will stay and transform over time into a butterfly or a moth. Most butterflies and moths stay inside of their chrysalis or cocoon for between five to 21 days.