How do you get goosebumps?

When you're cold, or you experience a strong emotion, such as fear, shock, anxiety, sexual arousal or even inspiration, goosebumps can suddenly pop up all over the skin. They occur when the tiny muscle located at the base of each hair follicle contracts, causing the hair to stand on end.