How many times has the olympics been in japan?

The Olympics have been in Japan 4 times. Most recently, Japan hosted the Summer 2020 games. Japan also hosted the 1998 Winter Olympics in the city of Nagano, 1972 Winter games in Sapporo and 1964 summer Olympics in Tokyo. Japan has been participating in the Olympic Games since 1912.

---

Four times, in 1964, 1972, 1998, and 2020