What's the vapor pressure of water?

In a closed space over water, some liquid water enters the gas or vapor phase and mixes with the atmospheric gases to contribute to the total atmospheric pressure. The pressure exerted by the water vapor, measured in millimeters of mercury, is the vapor pressure of water.