What happens when you mix sodium and water?

Mixing sodium and water will form a colorless solution, consisting of strongly alkalic sodium hydroxide, a caustic soda, and hydrogen gas. This is an exothermic reaction. Sodium metal is heated and may ignite and burn with a characteristic orange flame.