Who is mccarthy?

Joseph Raymond McCarthy was an American politician who served as a Republican US Senator from the state of Wisconsin from 1947 until his death in 1957. Beginning in 1950, McCarthy became the most visible face of a period in which Cold War tensions fueled fears of widespread communist subversion.