When was the song war made?

Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong wrote the song "War". circa 1969. The Temptations were the first to record "War" in 1970 but it was never released as a single. Edwin Starr later recorded "War". It was his version that was released as a single. Starr won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Male Vocal.