What is a stocking holder used as a wedding tradition?

A garter is a band worn around the leg to hold up a stocking. In wedding traditions, it is usually called a bridal garter or a wedding garter. One tradition is for the husband to remove the garter and throw it into the crowd as part of the wedding reception activities.