What is a meniscus in science?

The meniscus is the curve seen at the top of a liquid in response to its container. Most liquids, including water, present a concave meniscus. A convex meniscus, a "backwards" meniscus, is produced when the molecules of the liquid are more strongly attracted to each other than to the container.