Is australia part of great britain?

Australia is no longer part of Great Britain. In April 1770, Captain James Cook claimed the east coast of Australia, what is now New South Wales, for the English Crown. Colonization continued through the mid 1800s. The colonies joined to become a sovereign nation on January 1, 1901.