What pan should i melt chocolate in?

Usually, you use a double-boiler set-up to melt chocolate safely. Use a pan you normally use to boil water, fill it and bring it to a boil. Then place a heatproof bowl or pan on top of the boiling water and add the chocolate to it and stir. This provides indirect heat to melt the chocolate.