How do you blind bake a pie crust?

Blind baking a pie crust means that the pie crust is made and baked first. Then the filling is added then it goes back in the oven for the filling to bake. It is important sometimes because some fillings are very sensitive and only need a short time to bake. This way the filling is not over baked.