What were the twelve tables of rome?

The Laws of the Twelve Tables was the legislation that stood at the foundation of Roman law. Formally promulgated in 449 BC, the Tables consolidated earlier traditions into an enduring set of laws. Displayed in the Forum, The Twelve Tables stated the rights and duties of the Roman citizen. Wikipedia