How long does it take for a crock pot to warm up?

Preheating the crock before adding ingredients are cooking on the highest setting for the first hour will ensure a rapid heat start and will shorten the time foods are in the temperature danger zone. This is highly recommended when cooking meat or poultry in a slow cooker.