What's an enlightenment?

The Age of Enlightenment, or simply the Enlightenment, was an intellectual and philosophical movement that dominated Europe in the 17th and 18th centuries with global influences and effects. To enlighten means to give (someone) greater knowledge and understanding about a subject or situation.