Why do guinea pigs purr?

Guinea pigs often purr whilst they're being held, and this is normally a sound of contentment. A sound similar to purring is rumbling, a noise guinea pigs make to show their dominance. Males will often emit this very low sound when they're trying to attract females to them, whether it works or not.