Is there such thing as a purple potato?

Purple potato is native to Peru & Bolivia. Spread to Europe in the 1500s by Spanish Sailors. There r purple or bluish potatoes used in French cooking. There are also purple yams (a.k.a sweet potatoes.) Said to taste same as other regular potatoes.