How do you know if broccoli is old?

Usually there is a noticeable odor that intensifies gradually.If the green or bluish-green crown starts turning yellow and the leaves attached to the stem begin to wither cook immediately and it can be eaten. If prominent yellow, moldy, or brown, discard.