When did man discover fire?

It is widely accepted that humans first controlled fire beginning around 400,000 years ago. Humans did not discover fire. Fire is a force of nature itself and was well known by prehistoric humans.

---

Fire was discovered and controlled by humans in prehistoric times. Scholars agree that fire was systematically used 400 thousand years ago, but there is archeological evidence dating back as far as 1.7 million years.