How long does it take for a human to digest a meal?

After a human eats, it takes about 6 to 8 hours for food to exit the stomach and small intestine. Food then enters the large intestine (colon) for about 36 hours. The whole process, from swallowing food to food exiting as feces, takes about 2 to 5 days, depending on the person.