What's a therapeutic?

A therapeutic is a treatment for a disease after it has been caught, or acquired, usually intended to lessen the symptoms, but sometimes to provide an outright cure. This is in contrast to a vaccine, whose purpose is to prevent someone from ever acquiring a disease.