Is south america a country?

South America is a continent entirely in the Western Hemisphere and mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere. It can also be described as the southern subcontinent of the Americas. It consists of 12 countries and a French territory.

---

No. South America is a CONTINENT. It contains TWELVE DIFFERENT COUNTRIES.