What is five nine mean?

Five-nines availability or, 99.999% uptime, is the percentage of time a component or service is accessible to a user in a given period. In an ordinary year there are 525,600 minutes. Five-nines availability means that a system can be unavailable for only 5 mins &15 secs in a year's time