Are sparkling water and seltzer water the same thing?

The main difference between seltzer & sparkling water is where the carbonation comes from. If the carbonation is artificial, it’s probably seltzer & regulated. If the bubbles are naturally occurring, straight from the source, it’s sparkling water. That’s why, sparkling bottled water is bottled water