Are anchovies and sardines the same?

Both are small fish sold in cans, but they are not the same. Sardines, are pilchards, in the Clupeidae, family of fish with milder white flesh. Anchovies are smaller, usually dried in salt then packed in olive oil, so very salty. They are members of the Engraulidae, family of fish.