How long does it take to learn arabic?

It's estimated that in order to learn Arabic properly, it will take an English speaker at least 2200 hours of Arabic classes over 80 weeks - or, one and a half years of consistent language study. Some people argue that Arabic is just as hard to learn as Chinese or Korean because of the alphabet.