How far is our atmosphere?

The internationally accepted line, where the atmosphere stops and space begins, is called the Karman line. It is at 62 miles, or 100 km high. That doesn't mean the atmosphere really stops there however. In fact, the outer layer of the atmosphere, the exosphere, extends out as far as 10,000 km.