What's the difference between an english roast and a chuck roast?

Butchers use the term English roast to refer to the beef chuck cross rib pot roast cut and boneless version of the same cut. Comparing cross rib roast versus chuck roast, the cross rib roast, or English roast, is often the more tender cut despite its tough and fatty meat from the cow's shoulder.