What year did cheese strings come out?

The concept of string cheese came to life in the mid-1970s when Frank Baker, a Wisconsin cheesemaker, dreamed up the idea of snack-size pieces of mozzarella.

---

1996. 24 years ago, Mr. Cheestrings invented a string cheese product that he knew would revolutionise lunchboxes in the UK. Cheestrings launches in Britain & Ireland with a new TV advert and product tagline “Real A-peelable Cheese”.