Why is it called a whoopee cushion?

JEM finally went with the moniker whoopee cushions in 1932. (Whoopee is a word dating back to the 1860s that means "an exclamation of exuberant joy"; by the 1920s, the word also meant "exuberant or boisterous merry-making.")