What was the highest batting average ever recorded?

Outfielder Ty Cobb, whose career ended in 1928, has the highest batting average in Major League Baseball (MLB) history. He batted .3662 over 24 seasons and is followed by Oscar Charleston and Rogers Hornsby with .3643 and .3585 respectively.