Are paper plates bad for the environment?

The energy required to cut a tree down, transport it to the a paper mill, process it into a paper plate, package It, ship it to the store, ship it from the store to the consumer’s house, just to be used once and thrown away is substantially greater than the energy needed to just wash a plate.