What's in a casserole?

A casserole is a dish comprised of several different ingredients, usually savory, to create a one-pan dish. Most casseroles contain a carb of sorts, like potato, turnip, pasta or other ingredient, with others mixed in, along with a sauce to bind it all.

---

Getting down to the basics, a casserole is any food that is cooked and served in the same dish. They are typically baked and can consist of proteins like beef, chicken, or fish, a variety of vegetables, or almost anything else you can think of.