How long do you blanch fresh green beans?

Clean the beans and remove the stems. Bring a pot of water to a rolling boil. Drop the green beans in. While they are boiling, fill a large bowl with water and ice. When the beans are bright green, about 3 to 5 minutes, use a slotted spoon to remove them from the pot and drop them in the ice water.