What was the balfour agreement?

The Balfour Declaration was a statement issued by the British government, November 9th, 1917, during World War 1. It supported the establishment of a "national home for the Jewish people" in Palestine, then a part of the Ottoman Empire which was, at that time, at war with Britain.