Why are chihuahuas mean?

Small dogs are often aggressive because they feel threatened by everyone larger than they are. You should move slowly around dogs, not jump around and scare them. Also, speak softly and don't make loud noises. Usually, if you stay away from the dog, it won't bother you and might become friendly.