Is ice good for inflammation?

Ice can help minimize swelling around the injury, reduce bleeding into the tissues, and reduce muscle spasm and pain. Applying an ice pack early and often for the first 48 hours will help minimize swelling, and decreasing swelling around an injury will help to control the pain.