How do cats use their whiskers?

From live science.com. A cat's whiskers — or vibrissae — are a well-honed sensory tool that helps a cat see in the dark and steer clear of hungry predators. Whiskers are highly sensitive tactile hairs. Never cut off a cat's whiskers. A cat with cut whiskers will become disoriented and scared.