Do you put heat or ice on a pulled muscle?

Initially utilize ice. With a pulled muscle its best to follow r.i.c.e. which stands for rest, ice, compression and elevation.

---

Ice should be used to minimize swelling for the first two to three days. After this period, heat can be used to increase blood flow and assist the natural healing process. Applying heat too early may cause additional swelling by increasing blood flow to the injury.