Who invented hard boiled eggs?

With the invention of pottery, about 5000 BC, boiling eggs gradually became more common. In ancient Rome, hard-boiled eggs were so common as an appetizer that people said “ab ova ad mala”, from eggs to apples, meaning from the beginning of the meal to the end, or from start to finish.