What was the paleozoic?

The Paleozoic Era was 541 to 251.9 million years ago. Life began in the ocean and moved onto land, and by the end of the era, huge forests of primitive trees covered the continents. The Era ended with the largest extinction in the history of Earth. It took life on land 30 million years to recover.